The Board

David McCarthy – Chairman

David McCarthyDavid is Executive Vice-President, Deputy Chief Financial Officer at Great-West Lifeco Inc. He previously was the Financial Director of Irish Life Group and before that Financial Director of Irish Life Permanent. He also worked with Coopers & Lybrand (now PricewaterhouseCoopers) in Ireland and the UK. A business school graduate of Trinity College Dublin he is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, a Fellow of the Institute of Bankers and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts. He is a former non-executive director of Alcatel (Ireland) Limited, Software Resources Limited and Crampton Housing Limited. He is a director of a number of companies within the group including the associated company Allianz-Irish Life Holdings plc.


Frank McDonald

frankMcDonald_picFormer Environmental Editor (Irish Times)
Frank is a UCD, B.A. (History) and Politics Graduate. He is accepted as guardian of the heritage and environment in Ireland, having won an Award for Outstanding Work in Irish Journalism for a series of articles entitled “Dublin-what went wrong?”. In 1988 he won the Lord Mayor’s Award for his work in highlighting the architecture of the city. He is the author of several books including “The Destruction of Dublin” and his recently published “The Construction of Dublin”.


Tom Rowley

tomRowley_picSenior Partner, Solicitor
Tom has been a director of Energy Action since 2003, is a graduate of Trinity College Dublin and qualified as a solicitor in 1998. Tom is a partner in the Law firm of Doyle Associates Solicitors in Rathfarnham village and has extensive experience in the area of commercial conveyancing and family law




Feargal O’Neill

fergalONeill_picManaging Director (Gamma Ltd)
Feargal is managing director of Gamma Ltd, the spatial solutions IT company and a director of Bizmaps, the internet mapping company. He is also a qualified town planner and a graduate of Trinity College and UCD.



Niall O Donnchu

niallODonnchuAssistant Secretary General (Department of Arts, Sport and Tourism)
Niall Ó Donnchú, BSc (Econ), C(Dip) AF, is the Assistant Secretary General of the Department of Arts, Sport and Tourism. There he has Responsibility for the Arts, Culture and Film Sectors. Prior to that Niall Was the Principal in charge of Communications Development, E-Commerce and The Government Broadband Programme at the Department of Communications, Marine and Natural Resources. Niall also has extensive experience in the Energy field, was Head of the Alternative and Sustainable Energy Divisions Of the former Department of Public Enterprise and also the Gas Regulatory Division. He was also a member of the Energy Advisory Board. Niall has also Worked in the Department of Finance and the Department of the Gaeltacht and was formerly Company Secretary of Arramara Teo. – the state owned seaweed Processing company-. Niall is on the Boards of the National Concert Hall And Culture Ireland. He is a graduate of the London School of Economics.


Carol Pemberton

Former Board Member – Age Action Ireland
Carol was Executive Director – Corporate Resources for Irish Life managing the HR and Facilities functions across the group until her retirement at the end of 2013. In her 37 year career in Irish life she undertook a variety of roles in the areas of HR, Customer Service and Information Technology. She has a masters degree in Organisational Behaviour from Trinity College. Carol was a member of the Board of Directors of Age Action Ireland from 2007 to 2011 taking on the role of co-chair from 2009 to 2011.


Brian McSharry – CEO

Brian Mc Sharry was appointed CEO of Energy Action in January 2017 following the retirement of Charles Roarty. Brian has worked for over twenty years with the Department of Energy in a variety of roles in the areas of electricity, all-island energy market and strategic management. He holds a Bachelors degree in Political Science and a Masters in Policy Studies from Trinity College and was a voluntary member of the Board of Directors of Energy Action from 1995-2007.